Earth Day At The John Muir Historical Site in Martinez

battery recycle mole

Saturday, April 20th, 2024 – 10 AM to 4 PM Celebrating John Muir’s 186th Birthday And The 54rd Anniversary Of Earth Day Cal ACS will be there with hands-on chemistry, featuring the 2024 Earth Week theme, Get A Charge Out Of ChemistryRecárgate Con La Química The California Section will join numerous other community and educational organizations for…

Read More

Molecular Scale Engineering of Polymer Membranes for Environment, Energy and Health

Assistant Professor Hee Jeung Oh

On Thursday, March 28th, Assistant Professor Hee Jeung Oh of Penn State University presented a webinar on novel, solvent-free methods for preparing semipermeable membranes used in water purification and in selective absorption of bioactive molecules. Watch the recording HERE. For the presentation abstract and the speaker’s bio, click HERE. Here’s a brief report of this…

Read More

North Bay Science Discovery Day 2024

North Bay Science Discovery Day logo

Science wonder 2 days away! March 9, 10-4pm, Sonoma County Fairgrounds, Santa Rosa, CAFree Admission | Free Parking | Rain or Shine! 52 sponsors, 75 exhibitors (with 120 hands-on activities), and 150 volunteers welcome you to the 2024 North Bay Science Discovery Day!  Cal ACS will be there (look for our booth in Finley Hall)…

Read More



In conjunction with the Black History Month Celebration, SCALACS invites you to a free Virtual Seminar FEBRUARY 22, 2024 – 2:00 PM PACIFIC TIME presented by PROF. DANIEL KWABENA BEDIAKOAssistant Professor of Chemistry,University of California, Berkeley, CA RSVP: Superlattice structures are a powerful means of tailoring physical and chemical properties of materials. This talk…

Read More

ACS Virtual Office Hours: Acing the Interview

acing the interview

Thursday, Jan. 4! Open to Members and Non-Members Want to ace your next interview or performance review? This virtual career guidance session, titled ‘Acing the Interview,’ will be led by ACS Career Consultant Heinz Plaumann, Ph.D, who will share pro tips to help grow your leadership and people skills to advance in your career.

Read More

ACS Spring 2024 Registration Now Open!

ACS Spring 2024 memo

Register and join us from March 17 – 21 for ACS Spring 2024! We’ll be in-person in New Orleans, LA at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center or virtually across the globe. The theme, Many Flavors of Chemistry, will be at the core of programming for the hybrid event. The Schedule Overview is available for you to explore the overall meeting schedule. Check out…

Read More

CHEMISTRY OLYMPIAD – Register by December 15th!

ACS Logo

DRASTIC changes in registration for 2024 Chemistry Olympiad (local, national and international) for all students.  DEADLINE FOR REGISTRATION HAS BEEN EXTENDED TO JANUARY 19 You must register at the USNCO website. More information on our Chemistry Olympiad page.

Read More

Thanksgiving COOKING Chemistry

Guy Crosby - the Milk Street Kitchen

Join certified food scientist Guy Crosby of Milk Street Kitchen as he shares his practical and scientifically proven recipes for the most challenging holiday staples. What You Will Learn: – How to prepare and cook a moist, flavorful turkey in the oven and the chemistry of safely frying your bird – How to make fantastic…

Read More