Lloyd Ryland High School Teacher Award

Lloyd Ryland Outstanding
High School Chemistry Teacher Award

The 2021 Lloyd Ryland Outstanding High School Chemistry Teacher is Jonathan Fong who teaches at Lowell High School in San Francisco. He is dedicated to his students’ success and have been involved with College Board AP Chemistry workshops for many years. He brings a variety of teaching techniques to his students and his students perform exceptionally well on AP Chemistry exams. His students regularly participate in the National Chemistry Olympiad and perform well. He cares deeply about the quality of chemistry education in the entire school district and has mentored new chemistry teachers during the district’s summer school chemistry program.

Purpose: To recognize, encourage, and stimulate outstanding teachers of high school chemistry in the California Section of the American Chemical Society.

Nature: The Ryland Award consists of a cash award of $500 to the teacher and $500 to the teacher’s high school chemistry department and a certificate. The award will be presented at our award lunch or at a Section meeting

Deadline: Applications must be submitted to office@calacs.org no later than March 31.

Who is Eligible? The nominee must be actively engaged in the teaching of chemistry or a chemical science in a high school (grades 9-12) on at least a half-time basis.  The nomination should clearly demonstrate as many of the following attributes as possible:

  • The quality of the nominee’s teaching; unusually effective methods of presentation should be emphasized;
  • The nominee’s ability to challenge and inspire students;
  • Extracurricular work in chemistry or a chemical science by the nominee, including science fairs, science clubs, and activities that stimulate the interest of young people in chemistry and related sciences;
  • A willingness to keep up-to-date in the field, as evidenced by the pursuit of a higher degree in chemistry or a chemical science, enrollment in refresher courses and summer institutes, regular attendance at scientific meetings, membership in professional organizations, and other means of self-improvement;
  • Evidence of leadership and/or active involvement within the profession.

Required Submission:

  • The Awards Committee will consider only complete nomination portfolios consisting of:
    • Nominator Information Form;
    • Nominee Information Form;
    • Nominator Recommendation of not more than 750 words submitted by the nominator according to the guidelines outlined on the Recommendation Form;
    • A current curriculum vitae or resume that includes a list of the nominee’s honors, professional activities, and additional evidence of service to the profession; NOTE: This must be limited to no more than two pages and the activities listed must have occurred within the past five years.
    • A statement by the nominee of not more than 500 words that describes the nominee’s teaching philosophy or commitment to the profession;
    • At least one, but not more than three, letters of support.  One letter, of no more than 400 words, must be from the teacher’s current principal or supervisor.  Additional letters of support, of no more than 400 words, may be sent by colleagues, members of the American Chemical Society, who are familiar with the nominee’s achievements, or former students and parents of former students.

The award is named after Mr. Lloyd Ryland, a member of the California section of the American Chemical Society for 65 years and a strong believer in chemistry education.  He was born in San Francisco in 1912 and lived his entire life in the Bay Area.  Mr. Ryland received his bachelors degree from U.C. Berkeley and was employed by Chevron Development Company for 65 years as a chemist.  During World War II he joined the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary and after the war became a member and officer of three Yacht Clubs.  Mr. Ryland made a generous contribution to the Section and we are pleased to honor him by naming this award after him.
Lloyd Ryland Outstanding High School Chemistry Teacher Nomination Form
Deadline: March 31

Previous recipients of the award

2024 Rochelle Morris, Foothill High School
2023 Brad Vereen (Dublin High School, Dublin)
2022 Ethan Schnell (Dougherty Valley High School, San Ramon)
2021 Jonathan Fong, Lowell High School (San Francisco)
2020 Jonathan Holcomb, San Lorenzo High School (San Lorenzo)
2019 Brian Hopper, Hoopa Valley High School (Humboldt County)
2018 Alex Lee (Irvington High School, Fremont) and Paul Matsumoto (Galileo Academy of Science and Technology, San Francisco)
2017 Robert Fabini (El Cerrito High School, El Cerrito)
2016 Evy Kavaler (Berkeley High School, Berkeley)
2015 Julie Hubbard (Liberty High School, Brentwood)
2014 Michelle Wynn (St. Ignatius College Preparatory, San Francisco)
2013 Sai Kumar (San Jose High School, Fremont)
2012 Heather Pereira (Amador Valley High School, Pleasanton
2011 Beth Cutter (Amador Valley High School, Pleasanton)
2010 Jenelle Ball (Chico High School, Chico)
2010 Lee Boyes (Petaluma High School, Petaluma
2009 Paula Simms (Amador Valley High School, Pleasanton)
2008 Tracy Ostrom (Skyline High School, Oakland)